Current time in Malaysia


3:05 p.m.
May 25, 2022

Local time in Malaysia

The time in Malaysia is 8 hours ahead of UTC and 12 hours ahead of Ashburn. There is no daylightsaving in effect at the moment.

Details for the time in Malaysia

Current time
3:05 p.m.
Timezone Asia/Kuala_Lumpur (+08)
Olson timezone name Asia/Kuala_Lumpur
Time difference 12 hours ahead of Ashburn
  8 hours ahead of UTC

Malaysia Daylight Saving time (DST)

Malaysia does not observe daylight savings.


Malaysia uses Malaysia Time MYT. MYT is UTC +0800. Malaysia's latitude and longitude is 2° 30' N and 112° 30' E . Therefore being eight hours ahead of UTC is very suitable for Malaysia. Malaysia consist of two part on different Islands. It takes the sun about an hour to “travel” from the east to the west of the country. Because Malaysia is very close to the equator. Therefore the country has no need for daylight savings time.

Important cities in

has several timezones, the current time in some important cities in is shown below.